Adios Facebook, Stay Away Twitter.

Ah Facebook, you’ve changed so much over the past four years. So much so that I was forced to delete you last week. Before I explain what pushed me over the edge, here are some interesting statistics that are posted on Facebook.com:

  • More than 500 million active users
  • 50% of our active users log on to Facebook in any given day
  • Average user has 130 friends
  • People spend over 700 billion minutes per month on Facebook
Those are some pretty staggering numbers. Facebook was originally intended to be used by college students only. That is what made it special, you had to wait to get accepted by an institution before you were able to create a profile. Now, you do not have to be a college student to have a Facebook profile. Facebook is the new MySpace – available to people both young and old – and that is why it sucks. Younger kids have pretty creative ways of passing the time with their boring lives. They sit home from 8:00pm til about 1:00am and post things that they find funny or things that occupy them. A great example of this is the ever so popular status “like for a like”, meaning if you click the like button that person will then write something they like about you on your wall. Obviously this is extremely elementary and childish. The sad thing is that this is not done solely by high school kids, but college kids as well. I do not need to have my news feed littered with garbage about how you “like” the fact that someone is cool to talk to. If they were that cool they would be one of your close friends and you would talk to them daily, therefore they would not have to like your status in a desperate attempt to get you to say something positive about them and make them feel important.
That is just the tip of the iceberg. Facebook also apparently turned into a place for people to live a fake life. You have people posting a status claiming to be doing things that you know are simply false. Seriously, if we are “friends” on Facebook, chances are I know something about you so who the hell are you fooling? Being that I work out often, my favorite status has to be the ones about the gym. I love reading how some 130lb twig was repping out 140lb dumbbells on flat bench. I have a basic rule about lifting: if you have to talk about it and feel the need to tell people that you work out and what weights you use, then you probably are not big enough for them to notice to begin with so you should probably just shut up and keep working out with your imaginary 140lb dumbbells and your x-small Hollister shirt. It is just as stupid as when people ask “how much do you bench?”  WHO CARES? Are you asking because I am bigger than you and you are using me a measuring stick for your progress? Should I be flattered? Are you asking me so that when I answer you can tell me that you use a weight slightly heavier than me and then you will feel better about yourself? That just makes you a clown.  This is just one common facade that people put up on Facebook, I am sure you have some examples of your own.
Despite all of this, I will admit Facebook is addicting. It is a great way to procrastinate, communicate, and see what people are doing (at least what they claim to be doing). Since deleting mine last week, I have found myself rather bored with the internet. I open my laptop, check 3 or 4 sites, and then close it within 10 minutes. Most of my friends who have deleted their Facebook accounts have moved on to Twitter. From what I see, Twitter is not all that bad. It is clean and concise, two things that I like. My main issue with Twitter is the fact that it is essentially an ongoing away message. That is not horrible, but to me it is self-centered (now would be the time to point out that I never posted a status when I used Facebook). It is self-centered because do you honestly think that what you are doing at the current moment is that important to people? Should I really care what it is that you are drinking, eating, or watching on television? Maybe my life is just not that interesting. 80% of my Tweets would be either work or gym. As with Facebook, Twitter also leads to people complaining. The “OMG, at work til 6 – FML”  Tweet/status will forever puzzle me. It is common knowledge that the majority of us do not like sitting at work, but we suck it up and deal with it. Is it really necessary to go fishing for sympathy by complaining? Afterall, that is what you are looking for when you complain isn’t it?  I am not going to continue on because I feel that I have made my point. I will be staying away from both social networking sites – for now. If I do cave in to Twitter, I will be sure to let you know what I think about it.
5 Comments

Filed under Random

5 responses to “Adios Facebook, Stay Away Twitter.

  1. Seans Penis

    John, Twitter isnt all about telling people what your doing. I use mostly for observations and telling jokes. I think you’d be good at that. Now why don’t you jump down from your high horse and MAKE A TWITTER ALREADY

  2. Well, 1) Tyson’s voice is pretty feminine. 2) He is on medication now so he is not as bad ass as he once was. 3) I highly doubt that it is always him tweeting. 4) He is an athlete and a celebrity – he has fans that follow him and actually care what he says and is doing, do you have fans who care what you are doing?

Leave a Reply

